HomeDiscographyDoug HammondReflections in the Sea of Nurnen

An incredible session from the legendary Tribe Records scene -- an equal effort from leader Doug Hammond and keyboardist David Durrah, who contributes some groundbreaking Fender Rhodes and moog work to the set! Hammond handles drums plus a bit of vocals and synthesizer on the session -- working alongside Durrah in a groove that mixes electric and acoustic instrumentation into a totally righteous sound with lots of heavy Afro Jazz leanings. A number of tracks feature great vocals from Hammond -- righteous, and with a beautifully souful message-oriented approach -- and a few other tracks, such as the classic "Space I" and "Space II", feature a sparer all-electric sound. The whole thing's wonderful -- skittishly rhythmic, warmly flowing, and righteously beautiful. Titles include "Sea Of Nurnen", "Fidalgo Detour", "Reflections", "Space II", and "For Real".



A1. FIDALGO DETOUR - 7:32 (C. Metcalf)

A2. SPACE II - :35 (D. Durrah)

A3. WAKE UP BROTHERS - 3:05 (D. Hammond)

A4. REFLECTIONS - 4:23 (O. Harris)

B1. FOR REAL - 2:56 (D. Hammond)

B2. SPACE I - 2:00 (D. Durrah)

B3. SEA OF NURNEN - 4:34 (D. Durrah)

B4. MOVES - 4:29 (D. Hammond)

Printable Version